FAQ: All you wanted to know about the T20 World Cup 2021

Format, teams involved, prize money, venues – our explainer gives you the lowdown

So, finally we have a T20 World Cup. When does the action start?
Indeed, after a gap of five years, we have a T20 World Cup again. The tournament begins on October 17 with a double header. In the first game, Oman will take on Papua New Guinea. Later in the day, Bangladesh will face Scotland.

The final will be played on November 14.

Who are the hosts this time?
The BCCI are the hosts but the matches will be played in the UAE and Oman.

The decision to move the tournament out of India was taken in June, keeping in mind the Covid-19 situation in the country and the possibility of a third wave of infections.

How many teams in the tournament?

That’s twice the number of teams in the IPL! What’s the format?
The tournament will be played in two rounds. The first round will feature eight teams, split into two groups:

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia
Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and OmanEach team will play every other team in its group once.

After 12 matches in Al Amerat, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi, the top two teams from each group will progress to the next round, the Super 12s, where they will join the eight top-ranked T20I sides. In the Super 12s phase, the teams will once again be divided into two groups.

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2
Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1 and A2Again, teams will play each of the others in its group once.

This round will comprise 30 matches, to be played in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai. The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

What is the points system and what happens if teams are tied during either round?
In both rounds, a team will get two points for a win; one point for a tie, no result or abandonment; and zero points for a loss.If two or more teams finish on equal points in their group, the following parameters will be considered, in the order below, to break the deadlock:- Number of wins
– Net run rate
– Head-to-head result (points first, then net run rate in that game)
– Original first-round/Super-12 seedings

Will the DRS be available?
Yes, for the first time a men’s T20 World Cup will have reviews. Each team will be allowed a maximum of two unsuccessful requests per innings, as has been the case in T20Is since cricket resumed after the pandemic.

Story Image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *